top of page
  • Dylan Anderson

Commissioner Tim Corrigan won't seek a fourth term in 2024

Corrigan, who represents District 1 including South Routt County, was first elected in 2012.

Routt County Commissioner Tim Corrigan will not seek reelection when his term ends at the end of next year, he announced in a press release on Thursday.

Corrigan, a Democrat who lives just south of Yampa, was first elected to the Board of Commissioners in 2012 and most recently won reelection in 2020 when he ran unopposed. The election to fill his seat representing District 1, which largely includes South Routt County, will take place in November 2024.

“While I feel that I still have the commitment and energy to serve, I believe it is in the best interest of Routt County voters to be represented by new voices and perspectives,” Corrigan said in the Thursday release.

Corrigan has been the longest-tenured Commissioner since former commissioner Doug Monger ended a 20-year run in 2020 when he lost reelection to current Commissioner Tim Redmond. Redmond would be up for reelection in 2024 as well.

In the release, Corrigan said he was thankful for “the dedicated and talented staff at the county,” and that he was proud of what they were able to accomplish so far in his time as a commissioner.

“We have worked hard to provide the highest level of service to our citizens while maintaining balanced and fiscally responsible budgets,” Corrigan said. “We have maintained and improved the critical infrastructure to deliver those services. We have accomplished this by attracting and retaining an outstanding workforce and ensuring our employees are fairly compensated for the work they do.”

Corrigan’s decision sets up a race for the District 1 commissioner seat next year without an incumbent. District 1 includes some of the southern edges of Steamboat Springs, Oak Creek, Yampa, Stagecoach, Phippsburg and the rest of South Routt County. A candidate for commissioner needs to live within the district they represent, but the seat is voted for by the entire Routt County electorate.

Top Photo Caption: The Historic Routt County Courthouse in downtown Steamboat Springs. (Dylan Anderson/The Yampa Valley Bugle)


bottom of page